Peebles 31, Selkirk 25

Selkirk unable to stem the tide as Peebles rewarded for spirited fightback

SELKIRK'S rollercoaster season continued at The Gytes last Friday night, when Peebles came from behind to pick up maximum points in a "Southern Reporter" Border League fixture. The match was played in monsoon conditions, with both sets of players deserving credit for managing to rise above the glaur and produce a total of nine tries.

Bidding to register back-to-back victories for the first time this season, the visitors made by far the more confident start. Alistair Dickson was in sparkling form on his comeback, regularly penetrating the home defences to set up scoring chances for his Selkirk team-mates. Unfortunately the former pro. player had to leave the field before halftime after sustaining a leg knock, and this proved to be the match's turning point, with the visitors unable to regain their early poise thereafter.

Ahead 22-12 at halftime, Selkirk found themselves continually under pressure after the break, with Peebles' streetwise half-backs harnessing the rain-soaked conditions to telling effect by kicking to the corners at every opportunity. Even the handicap of having two players yellow-carded - David Harvey and Rees Hamer - failed to lessen the home side's momentum.

Peebles' tries came from Ross McNeish, Trevor Keen, Australian number eight Olly Faey (2) and Neill Hogarth. Craig Borthwick completed the home side's total with three conversions.

Selkirk's try scorers were Michael McVie, Lee Jones, Scott Hendrie and David Cassidy, who also kicked a conversion and a penalty. Selkirk suffered a second injury blow when openside flanker Denver Rumney retreated to the sidelines with a shoulder knock, his place being taken by promising teenager Andrew Millar.

This coming Saturday Selkirk travel up the A7 to take on promotion hopefuls Edinburgh Accies at Raeburn Place, while Selkirk 2nds will return to The Gytes to meet Peebles 2nds in a Roadhead Farm Feeds Border Championship fixture.

SELKIRK - F. Harkness, S. Hendrie, D. Cassidy, A. Dickson, L. Jones, G. Craig, M. McVie, A. McDowall, I. Walling, M. Murray, S. Renwick, R. Aglen, N. Darling D. Rumney, S. Tomlinson. Replacements - B. Armstrong, J. Duncan, A. Millar, G. Patterson.