Selkirk 'A' 31, Hamilton 2nds 0


Selkirk's Ruairi Wilson in full flight for the Hamilton try line in Saturday's match against Hamilton at Philiphaugh.

Selkirk lock Sean Nixon takes clean line-out ball during Saturday's friendly fixture against Hamilton at Philiphaugh. (Photos: Grant Kinghorn)

FOLLOWING their confident showing against Hawick Harlequins earlier in the week, Selkirk A's players continued the good work against Hamilton 2nds in an entertaining friendly fixture at Philiphaugh on Saturday.

The first score came after nine minutes when the home threequarters broke from their own 22 and raced the length of the field for a well deserved opening try by newcomer Harry Aynsley.
With the Selkirk pack dominating all aspects of play, a ball against the head saw scrum-half Tom Penman steal up the blind side and sprint under the posts for his team's second try. The final score of the half went to Ruairi Wilson who, after good interplay between backs and forwards, ran in at the corner for an excellent try. Penman converted two tries to put Selkirk 19-0 ahead at the interval.
Denied possession for long periods in the second half, Hamilton had few opportunities to attack the Selkirk try line. In the 50th minute James Bett scored following good work by the forwards, who controlled the ball well from a line-out rolling maul. The final try was scored by teenage centre Lewis MacLennan and converted by Penman.

The home side played the game at a high tempo, running the much larger Hamilton forwards around the park and giving them no time to rest - testament to the fitness and commitment of the younger Selkirk players.
Although the score could have been more, several home players got 'white line fever', going for a try themselves and not utilising the support provided by team-mates. However, a point of pride for Selkirk was not allowing a score by the visitors. This display will put the team in good stead as it prepares for its upcoming Reserve National League 1 campaign.

SELKIRK - K. Monks, R. Henderson, A. Lyall, L MacLennan, H. Aynsley, C. MacDougall, T. Penman, B. Reid, J. Bett, M. Waldron, S. Nixon, E. Turner, W. McClymont, R. Wilson, J. Turnbull. Replacements: N. Wielbo, S. Bell, F. Orr.