Hillhead/Jordanhill 2nds 10, Selkirk ‘A’ 48


LEFT – Selkirk ‘A’ hooker Ruairi Wilson breaks clear in Saturday’s game against Hillhead-Jordanhill 2nds at Hughenden, with team-mate Callum McColm up in support. RIGHT - Selkirk ‘A’ No. 8 Scott McDonald beats the cover to score Selkirk’s bonus point try.

LEFT – Selkirk ‘A’ full-back Lewis MacLennan tries to evade the clutches of Hillhead-Jordanhill’s left wing. RIGHT – Scrum-half Callum McColm spins out a pass to launch his threequarters. [Photos: GRANT KINGHORN]

A SOLID all-round performance helped Selkirk ‘A’ notch the first away victory of their RBS Reserve League National 1 campaign – a win which sees the Souters retain fourth spot in the league table.

The match turned out to be a largely scrappy affair, but the visitors stuck to their task well against a stuffy Hillhead/Jordanhill side desperate to notch their first win of the season. Selkirk had their first points on the board as early as the fourth minute when scrum-half Callum McColm crossed for a try wide out.

Midway through the half Michael Rutherford added a penalty to stretch the visitors’ lead, and although Hills cut the deficit with a successful penalty of their own, a try from Callum Marshall – who showed no ill-effects from his four-week lay-off – gave Selkirk a 17-3 interval lead (Rutherford having added two conversions).

Despite losing Jason Hendrie with a knee injury early in the second period, Selkirk piled on the pressure to score further tries through Matt Robertson, Scott McDonald, Callum McColm (his second), Andrew Given and Callum Marshall (his second). Michael Rutherford added three conversions.

One of Selkirk’s top performers on the day was hooker Ruairi Wilson, whose work rate in the loose was outstanding, while Callum McColm showed great character in returning to the field from the sidelines after the interval to cover for an injured team-mate.

SELKIRK – L. MacLennan, J. Hendrie, A. Given, C. MacDougall, H. Aynsley, M. Rutherford, C. McColm, C. Elliott, R. Wilson, B. Riddell, C. Marshall, K. Mitchell, S. Nixon, S. McDonald, M. Robertson. Replacements: C. Grieve, S. McClymont, C. Turnbull, T. Walling.