Kelso 2nds 12, Selkirk ‘A’ 20


LEFT – Selkirk ‘A’ full-back Josh Welsh heads for the Kelso line… RIGHT – Josh touches down the ball for the first of his two tries in the match.

LEFT – Centre Lewis MacLennan sets up another attack for the visitors. RIGHT – Scrum-half Michael McVie gets Selkirk’s threequarter line moving.

LEFT – Selkirk ‘A’ lock Eddie Turner rises high to gather clean line-out ball. RIGHT – Prop Graham Turner looks to wrong-foot the opposition.

LEFT – Skipper Craig MacDougall find his progress stopped by a Kelso defender. RIGHT – Sean Nixon takes over scrum-half duties watched by team-mate Matt Robertson. [Photos: GRANT KINGHORN]

A STRONG first half performance was enough to earn Selkirk ‘A’ a welcome win in Saturday’s Border 2nd XV Cup fixture against Kelso 2nds at Poynder Park.

It took just four minutes for the visitors to get on the score sheet, thanks to a Michael McVie penalty kick after the Tweedsiders were caught off-side in front of the posts. Six minutes later centre Lewis MacLennan - who impressed throughout - crossed for the contest’s first try after a midfield interception. McVie added the conversion to put Selkirk 10-0 ahead.

The Philiphaugh men scored two more tries before the interval, both by full-back Josh Welsh, making the halftime score Kelso 2nds 0, Selkirk ‘A’ 20.

The Black & Whites stepped up their game after the break, notching a converted try thanks to some powerful forward play. On the hour-mark Kelso scored the final try of the afternoon, but thereafter Selkirk’s defence was able to keep the Tweedsiders at bay to set the seal on a satisfying win.

Flanker Callum Johnston deserves special mention for being at the heart of Selkirk’s best passages of play, while Michael McVie used all his experience to good effect by controlling things in the early part of the contest, with Josh Welsh also showing classy touches to earn him Selkirk’s ‘man of the match’ award.

SELKIRK – J. Welsh, H. Aynsley, L. MacLennan ,C. MacDougall, S. Tough, C. McColm, M. McVie, G. Turner, I. Walling, B. Riddell, A. Lambie, E. Turner, S. Nixon, C. Johnston, M. Robertson. Replacements: J. Bett, C. Elliot, R. Wilson, K. Monks, A. Given.

Referee - Scott Robertson (Gala).