Selkirk ‘A’ 51, Musselburgh 2nds 12


LEFT – Selkirk ‘A’ lock Jamie Turnbull prepares to off-load the ball to team-mate Scott McClymont in Saturday’s 51-12 win over Musselburgh 2nds at Philiphaugh. RIGHT – Robert Cook gets ready to charge down Musselburgh scrum-half Scott Walls’ clearance kick.

LEFT – Selkirk prop Kieran Thomson gets ready to feed the ball to scrum-half Ross Purves. RIGHT – Callum McEwan feels the full force of the Musselburgh No. 8’s hand-off as team-mates Robert Cook and Kieran Monks look on. [Photos: GRANT KINGHORN]

SELKIRK ‘A’ kept up their run of good form with a convincing nine-try victory over Musselburgh 2nds in Saturday’s BT Reserve League National 2 fixture at Philiphaugh.
The game was overshadowed by a neck injury sustained in the second half by visiting scrum-half Scott Walls following a collision. An ambulance was called, and thankfully the player later received the all-clear at the BGH.
Selkirk’s try scorers were Callum McEwan (2), Kieran Monks (2), Sean Nixon, Alistair Lyall, Matt Robertson and Ross Purves (who also kicked three conversions).
Ahead 15-5 at halftime, the home forwards once again laid the foundations for victory with a solid display. First XV regular Jordan McGowan made his long-awaited comeback appearance, after being sidelined by a leg injury picked up in training.
The match also saw the return to the side of utility forward Sean Nixon, a key player for the ‘A’ team in recent seasons, who has just returned from a year’s sabbatical in New Zealand, where he turned out for the Kirwee club near Christchurch.
With skipper Scott Tough drafted into the senior squad on Saturday, Ross Purves took over the No. 9 shirt in the first half, with Callum McEwan switching to scrum-half after the break – his first time in this position for Selkirk.
Meanwhile centre Alistair Lyall took over Callum’s position of fly-half for the second half, and played well enough to secure Selkirk’s ‘Man of the Match’ award – a fitting accolade on his birthday!
SELKIRK - S. Marshall, L. Martin, A. Lyall, D. Swinbanks, K. Monks, C. McEwan, R. Purves, K. Thomson, B. Riddell, S. Mackay, R. Cook, J. Turnbull, J. McGowan, S. McClymont, R. Cook, M. Robertson. Replacements: C. Bruce, B. Wilkinson, J. Stephen, S. Nixon, W. McClymont.
Referee – David Douglas (Hawick).

Selkirk ‘A’ will play Jed-Forest 2nds in a Border 2nd XV Cup match at Philiphaugh this Wednesday evening (kick-off 7.30pm).