Man-of-the-match Connor Ward bursts upfield, watched by team-mate Alan Lambie, in Selkirk A’s reserve league fixture against Aberdeenshire 2nds on Saturday.

Selkirk ‘A’ winger Kerr Gerrard dives over the whitewash for one of his four tries in Saturday’s game against Aberdeenshire 2nds.

Wing-forward Neil Darling takes the full force of an Aberdeenshire opponent’s tackle, watched by Selkirk team-mate Kerr Gerrard.

Fly-half Gavin Craig breaks through Aberdeenshire 2nds’ first line of defence on Saturday, with Harry Borthwick ready to lend support



SELKIRK A’s young players finally found their feet on Saturday, posting an impressive nine-try victory in a thoroughly entertaining BT Reserve League National 2 fixture against Aberdeenshire 2nds at Philiphaugh.
Because the visitors lacked the required front row cover, both sides agreed the match would go to uncontested scrums. This resulted in a fast-flowing, high-tempo contest, in which Selkirk’s pacy threequarters were able to parade their attacking capabilities.
Newcomer Kerr Gerrard, making the home side’s starting line-up for the first time, showed his team-mates the way by scoring four tries, while Selkirk’s other winger, Lewis Martin, crossed for two touchdowns.
The foundations for victory, however, were laid by ‘old heads’ Neil Darling, Gavin Craig and Ali Lyall, all of whom were in fine form and provided a much-needed steadying influence on their eager young team-mates.
Lock Connor Ward turned in a typically forceful performance, whether carrying ball or on defensive duties, and was later named Selkirk’s ‘Man of the Match’.
Selkirk’s other tries in the match were scored by Ross Purves, Harry Borthwick and Neil Darling, while full-back Rory Hamilton kicked six conversions. Aberdeenshire’s try came from Matthew Lynch, with Malcolm White adding a conversion and penalty.
Despite this victory, Selkirk ‘A’ remain bottom of the National 2 league table on points differential, and this Saturday face a daunting assignment away to leaders Stirling County 2nds. However, morale in the squad remains high, and with several players due to return to the side after injury there is definitely light at the end of the tunnel.
SELKIRK – R. Hamilton, L. Martin, J. Griffin, A. Lyall, K. Gerrard, G. Craig, R. Legge, J. Stephen, R. Purves, K. Thomson, A. Lambie, C. Ward, N. Darling, F. Amos, H. Borthwick. Replacements: K. Monks, R. Reilly, W. McClymont.
ABERDEENSHIRE – M. MacLugash, G. Thomas, M. Lynch, S. Grant, M. Clayton, M. White, Q. McDonald, P. Eden, J. Dooley, M. Kassab, H. Munro, D. Ewing, D. Angus, J. Carr, N. Gillanders.

Referee – Piet Daniel (Northumberland).