Selkirk 'A' 23, Kelso 'A' 11

Selkirk 'A' maintain pole position in play-offs race after good win over Kelso

CAPTAIN FANTASTIC. Selkirk 'A' skipper Fraser Jack looks for support in Saturday's game against Kelso 'A'. Try scorer Alistair Lyall weighs up his options in the background. (Photo: Grant Kinghorn).

SELKIRK'S final Border Farm Supplies Championship game before the play-offs ended in an important victory over title challengers Kelso 'A' at Philiphaugh on Saturday. It was end-to-end action for the first 15 minutes, with both teams creating chances.

Selkirk opened the scoring in the 18th minute when quick ball from the forwards enabled the home backs to spread the ball wide, and winger Craig MacDougall side-stepped his way past two Kelso defenders to go over for a fine try. Rory Banks added the conversion.

Kelso got on the score sheet five minutes later from a penalty, after Selkirk were caught offside. The Tweedsiders then took the lead on the half-hour mark with a try from left winger Alan Haig, who touched down near the corner. Selkirk hit back almost immediately from a Rory Banks penalty, making the halftime score Selkirk 10, Kelso 8.

The visitors regained the lead five minutes into the second half thanks to another penalty after an infringement at the breakdown. Selkirk replied in kind with another Banks penalty in the 50th minute.

The Black & Whites then had a period of sustained pressure right on the Selkirk 22, but the home defence held firm thanks to some great tackling. Selkirk extended their lead mid way through the second half thanks to try from Ally Lyall, who gathered the ball after a poor clearance kick and ran in from the 22. Banks added the conversion.

The home fly-half then completed the scoring in the 74th minute with his third penalty of the contest, making the final scoreline Selkirk 23, Kelso 11. Selkirk now wait to see who they will face in the play-offs, with the other top three teams still having matched to complete.

SELKIRK - D. Scott, C. MacDougall, A .Lyall, R. Armstrong, J. Hendrie, R. Banks, F. Jack, R. Price, P. Forrest, S. Renwick, C. Marshall, S. McDonald, D. Gray, A. Millar, J. Everitt. Replacements: S. Tough, T. Swan, B. Reid, G. Jeffrey, M. Robertson, R. Crockatt, S. Nixon.